top of page

Warner Bros. Games Launches Mortal Kombat 1

Discover a Reborn Mortal Kombat Universe with the Latest Installment in the Acclaimed Franchise

Early Access Available Now for Premium Editions;

Pre-Order to Receive Bonus Shang Tsung Playable Character

Warner Bros. Games today announced Mortal Kombat 1, the latest installment in the acclaimed videogame franchise, is now available for early access on PlayStation®5 (PS5™), Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch™ system, and PC as part of the Premium Edition. The Mortal Kombat 1 Standard Edition will launch worldwide on 19 Sept.

Developed by award-winning NetherRealm Studios, Mortal Kombat 1 introduces a new beginning for the franchise with a reborn Mortal Kombat Universe created by Fire God Liu Kang, featuring iconic heroes and villains reimagined as they’ve never been seen before. The genre-defining Story mode provides a fresh cinematic narrative with new relationships, unexpected twists on classic rivalries, and original backstories for a wide-ranging cast of characters.

Mortal Kombat 1 extends the single player offering with the debut of Invasions, a progression-based mode where gamers can traverse the realms via an interactive map, experiment with different character builds, and complete numerous challenges to earn a variety of rewards, all built on a themed six-week seasonal schedule.

Mortal Kombat 1 also features the new Kameo Fighter system, providing a separate roster of support characters to assist during matches. Pulled from over 30 years of Mortal Kombat history, Kameo Fighters bring an advantage to every fight with an arsenal of offensive and support-based special moves, unique throws, defensive breakers, devastating Fatal Blows, and brutal Fatalities.

Mortal Kombat 1 features a robust roster of fighters with unique abilities and Fatalities, including Liu Kang, Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Raiden, Kung Lao, Kitana, Mileena, Johnny Cage, Kenshi, Smoke, Rain, Li Mei, Tanya, Baraka, Geras, Reptile, Ashrah, Havik, General Shao, Sindel, Reiko, Shang Tsung, and the vampire heroine Nitara played by actress Megan Fox.

The Mortal Kombat 1 Premium Edition is available now for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, and PC (Steam and Epic Games Store), and includes early access to the game beginning today along with the post-launch downloadable content (DLC) Kombat Pack and 1250 Dragon Krystals (in-game currency). The Kombat Pack includes a Johnny Cage character skin with the voice and likeness of actor and martial artist, Jean-Claude Van Damme (available now), early access to playable fighters Quan Chi, Ermac, Takeda, Peacemaker, Omni-Man, and Homelander (available post-launch), and Kameo Fighters Ferra, Johnny Cage, Khameleon, Mavado, and Tremor (available post-launch).

The Mortal Kombat 1 Premium Edition (physical and digital) is available for £89.99 (SRP) on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, and PC (Steam and Epic Games Store). The Mortal Kombat 1 Standard Edition (physical and digital) can be pre-ordered for £64.99 (SRP) on PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, and PC (Steam and Epic Games Store) and will be available on 19 Sept. All pre-orders will receive Shang Tsung as an in-game playable character.

To learn more about Mortal Kombat 1, please visit or join the community conversation on Instagram (@MortalKombat), TikTok (@MortalKombat), Twitter (@MortalKombat), Twitch (NetherRealm), YouTube (Mortal Kombat), Facebook (MortalKombat), Discord (MortalKombat), or Reddit (MortalKombat).

9 views0 comments


bottom of page